Icom AH4 tuner and 500' longwire

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by N7CPM, Jul 28, 2015.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: abrind-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
  1. N7CPM

N7CPM Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Hey guys, I'm still pretty new to the fun but frustrating world of random wire antennas. Last month, I purchased a 500' spool of 14 gauge shielded stranded wire and have that up in my trees in the back forest connected to an Icom AH4 tuner mounted to the side of my house. Right now I have the tuner connected to a series of ground radials I have at various lengths all connected together over a grounding rod.

Here is my question. I have not be having the best luck with this antenna, it works, but not as well as I would expect. The area where my radials are located is not a big space at all, so I only have about 8 radials. Would it be better to run a single, long counterpoise back into the forest? Is there a certain length I should look to use?

Thanks guys! I always appreciate the helpful info on this forum!

2. WA4SIX

WA4SIX Ham Member QRZ Page

Is the shield connected to the 14 Ga wire? If not, that may be your problem.

Ed

3. N7CPM

Oh man, my mistake. I meant insulated wire, not shielded. Totally different thing :oops:

4. KJ3N

KJ3N Ham Member QRZ Page

If there is actually 500 feet of wire attached to the ceramic "knob" end of the AH-4, I'd say that's WAY too much wire. I'd cut it back by at least half. The alternative would be to take the 500 feet and arrange it in a loop configuration, attaching the other end to the ground side of the AH-4. If that's not practical, then an major increase in radials would probably be in order. Eight radials isn't much, IMO.

You don't mention how the 500 feet is run, at what height, and in what sort of configuration (straight, zig-zag, etc). Without further information, it's difficult to give advice.

5. WB2WIK

WB2WIK Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page