ad: MultusSDR-1

ICom 706mkII (not G) and FLDIGI

Discussion in 'Rig Control, Propagation, Cluster, & Other Softwar' started by KE0KDQ, Jul 14, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
  1. KE0KDQ

KE0KDQ Ham Member QRZ Page

Hello all,

Trying to get these two to talk to each other using a C-IV serial interface from EBay. I can hear the MCW signal through the radio when I hit "Tx" in FLDIGI but can't get the rig to key and transmit.

When I push the key on the mic/handset, it flickers between Tx/Rx and I have to restart the radio.

I'm only a Tech so can't Tx in any mode on HF digital other than MCW (can't run the key all by myself, don't have the skill yet.)

Found a rigcat file online, but who knows if it's the right one, and not sure how to adjust settings in the "rig setup" menu in FLDIGI.

Any advice?

Thanks,
    KE0KDQ

2. K7MEM

K7MEM Ham Member QRZ Page

First a few questions:

What is the name of the interface you obtained from E-Bay?
    Does Fldigi show the correct frequency?
    Do other CAT functions work correctly?
    What do you use for an audio interface?
    How do you connect in to the IC-706mkii? Microphone or rear accessory connector?
    And, most importantly, does your IC-706mkii have a "TX" command?

I took a quick look through the IC-706mkii manual. On page 41 there is a Command table. These are all the commands your radio should respond to. But unless I was misreading it, I do not see a "TX" command. In order to make your radio go into transmit you need a hardware PTT or you need to configure your VOX, to put your radio in transmit. Page 25 of your manual has information on configuring your VOX.