IC 7100 vs TS480sat

Discussion in 'Mobile Radio Systems' started by K4VUQ, Mar 1, 2016.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
  1. K4VUQ

K4VUQ Ham Member QRZ Page

Hello all, I am a newly licensed tech but I plan to upgrade soon. I am a mobile operator. In the very near future I plan to buy a rig. I am torn between these two. With one I get an AT (could be handy) the other rig gets me on 2m- 440 which I have privileges on. How capable of a 2m rig is the 7100? I could almost buy the Kenwood+ a 2m rig for the same price. Being new to this I dont know if I am even interested in 2m or 70cm. It might give me something to do while I wait for the lower bands to open up. I have read many glowing reviews on both units. I find myself drawn to the kenwood. I am omitting the HX version because of the power requirements. Besides 100w to me is a lot. I would love to hear your opinions on these radios or others I should consider.

John

2. K0BG

K0BG Ham Member QRZ Page

If you opt for the Kenwood to go mobile, DON'T BUY the ST!! Spend the extra bucks, and get the HX. If you read my article about Miniature Radio on my web site, you'll know why.

The 7100 is fancied up 7000, without video out. If you look around you can find an IC-7000 in almost new condition for about $1k. They only thing is doesn't have is D-Star, and if you're not sure about VHF, what difference does it make?

N8ZL likes this.
  3. KK4YDR

KK4YDR Ham Member QRZ Page

I would suggest not going with Kenwood for mobile, even if it is a mobile radio, unless you are ok with the large control head and are able to safely place it out of the ballistics zone of an airbag deployment otherwise you are presenting a 1-2lb 250-300 mph projectile right for your face in the event of a wreck.