I saw the light

Discussion in 'VHF/UHF - 50Mhz and Beyond' started by KC8GTR, Nov 23, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
  1. KC8GTR

KC8GTR Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Hello folks ,

A newbie here so don't expect me to have read too many post and threads and such .
    So if this topic have been discussed , feel free to let me know .

I do want to post a interesting question that takes the scope of VHF , UHF and beyond to the beyond limit .
    I'm curious about using light waves instead of RF waves .
    What efforts , projects and scientific papers have been created to explore using for example...LASER beams to communicate ?
    I can envision having a short focal length telescope spinning on top of my tower looking for a beam back at me .
    The same telescope could so easily be equipped with a simple LASER pointer at he eye piece ready to broadcast back to the other station .

The hardware upstairs does not need to be too complicated , possibly be more affordable .
    Read on .
    I think it would be very similar to Yagi's , longer the boom and element count the narrower the beam pattern .
    So it's the same age old paradigm , gain versus beam width .
    That is also very true for light buckets , oops I meant telescopes .
    Short focal wave lengths telescopes have wider views but less resolving power .
    And the opposite is true , longer and more narrow view .
    It seems very possible to easily erect a " light bucket " contraption either a refactor , reflector or the very wide view ...the parabolic dish .
    If you can see the blinking red light on top of those commercial broadcasting towers , so would your light sensing device .

Better yet...imagine bouncing your LASER beam off the moon !
    There are mirrors on the moon just for that purpose !
    Seriously folks...can you imagine making a EME voice QSO to and from the moon using 5mw at 650 nm !!!
    That would be outstanding .