ad: Morse-1

I Like Parallels Virtual Machine

Discussion in 'OS: Mac OS' started by N0TZU, Jun 23, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. N0TZU

N0TZU Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

I've been using VMware Fusion for many years, but today I tried and switched to Parallels. It really is considerably faster in all respects on my late 2012 Mac Mini in running Win10 and applications. I also didn't need to fiddle with VM settings to get it to work acceptably, as I had with Fusion.

For the next few days, Parallels is running a sale on the first year cost of the package ($60, normally $80). They have a subscription model, whereas VMware is pay per version, however, updates come about every year so it's close to the same dent in the wallet either way.

The only problem I had was some annoyance converting the Win10 installation from Fusion to Parallels. The file one needs to convert was listed with the wrong extension in the documentation, which took a call to Parallels support to figure out.

Then I had to phone Microsoft support and have them show me how to remove the Win10 license key from the Fusion copy and put it on the Parallels copy, because to Win10 they look like two different host computers. It's easy, but not obvious and requires two Win command line operations. Apparently they really want you to go buy another Win10 copy.:rolleyes:

Now that I know how to do those things it would go much, much faster and easier.

K3DCW likes this.
  2. K3DCW

K3DCW QRZ Lifetime Member #212 Volunteer Moderator Platinum Subscriber Life Member QRZ Page

Bob,

I've been using Parallels for many years now and agree that it seems much faster than Fusion for most tasks. I have the subscription which means continuous updates, and you're correct that the costs are more or less about the same as buying the upgrades each year.