ad: DukeCity-1

I just need someone to tell me what to buy/do!

Discussion in 'Mobile Radio Systems' started by KN4MKD, Jun 15, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: l-BCInc
ad: l-assoc
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
  1. KN4MKD

KN4MKD Ham Member QRZ Page

Hey there! I just got my ticket in May 18 and obviously very new at all of this. I was interested in the hobby because of my dad but I'm not technically knowledgeable about the science of it. I've been pondering over my mobile install for weeks and seeing all sorts of contradicting information. I've changed my mind a few times about it and at this point I just really need someone to tell me what to buy and how to do it. Here's what I'm working with and what my plan was.

2008 TOYOTA Highlander.
    Yaesu FTM3200DR
    Antenna mount https://www.hamradio.com/detail.cfm?pid=H0-009010
    Antenna https://www.hamradio.com/detail.cfm?pid=H0-003457

I don't plan on having my vehicle much longer so I wanted a somewhat less permanent "permanent" install if that makes sense. I planned to install on the centerish lip of my rear lift gate or the side. My lift gate also has a rear window that opens, I'm hoping that this mount will allow me to swivel the antenna around so I can still use the glass portion. Being attached to the lift gate itself should give me no issues in opening the gate. I also planned on installing it here because I park in a low clearance concrete parking garage daily so I need the antenna to be lower profile. I have considered bend down antennas as well as true low profile antennas and even mag antennas but don't want to have to get out of my vehicle to remove etc for clearance.

The Yaesu is also my Base station. I will be using at home as well as my vehicle so I need to be able to access and remove/unplug easily. Eventually I'll get something permanent for my vehicle that I can leave in there.