I can only talk to myself. Am I the only HAM on the air?

Discussion in 'General Technical Questions and Answers' started by KM6VCV, Mar 3, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: abrind-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
  1. KM6VCV

KM6VCV Ham Member QRZ Page

Here's my situation, I'm sure it's not unique... but my limited debugging skills aren't getting me anywhere.

• I'm a Technician for, maybe a year and a half, but I finally decided to do something with it.
    • I'm an electrical engineer, but I'm an digital electronics designer, so antennas and all this analog stuff are kind of new to me... but don't be afraid to use numbers and acronyms.
    • I have two Baofeng radios, programmed in the appropriate, legal manner, for ham radio frequencies only
    • I have Chirp set up on my PC, I have a good programming cable, and I've programmed both radios myself.
    • I'm in Grid DM43ej. I'm reasonably certain I'm not the only HAM on the air in the middle of the Pheonix metroplex.
    • I've got my radios programmed for a couple of repeaters near me and for the 2M and 70CM simplex frequencies
      [​IMG]
      (The R at the front of the repeater callsigns is just a note to myself that they are repeaters.)
    • The data for the programming came directly from Chirp's interface, standard configuration files, and interaction with RepeaterBook)
    So, now the issue.
    My two radios can hear each other on the simplex frequencies, but I don't hear ANYONE else. Right now, my radios are on, and I hear silence. I can't hear anything from the repeaters. If I turn off squelch all I hear is static.

I assume I'm not the only one on the air... so I assume I'm doing something wrong... but I can't figure out what it is.

2. W4HWD

W4HWD Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

What's a "HAM"?

3. N0TZU

N0TZU Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page