I am 31 yo and I want to learn Morse Code

Discussion in 'Becoming an Amateur Radio Operator/Upgrading Privi' started by CT2FZI, Feb 16, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
ad: Left-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
  1. CT2FZI

CT2FZI Ham Member QRZ Page

Hello and 73,

How are you all doing?

I am a ham radio operator since early 1996 and my CW experience is close to null.

I am allowed to TX in CW, all bands.

Unfortunately I do not know Morse Code, not at the rate we hear on the CW QSOs... And I still have to train my hear to CW :)

So, what is the basic first step for me? I understand that its not going to be easy, but I am not easily defeated!

Does anyone have a old morse key that I can borrow? :eek:

Thanks in advanced,

Luis, CT2FZI

2. K0RGR

K0RGR XML Subscriber QRZ Page

There is a good self study course, and a good computer program you can use.

The K7QO code course is on MP3 recordings, so you can download it to an MP3 player and take it with you.

The G4FON code software is for the PC.

Both have been very successful. They both teach you to immediately recognize the letters when you hear them, without counting the dots and dashes.

Both of these can be found online.

3. K4PP

K4PP Ham Member QRZ Page

I am learning as well. Currently sending reasonably but copy not so well. What I have done is used CWGet to capture some ragchew they were doing at about a gazzillion miles a minute. Then I make a file to play back the qso using G4FON at a reasonable speed that I can copy it. Seems to be working. I also have a lists of common words I play back and copy.

K4PRP

4. K0CMH

K0CMH Ham Member QRZ Page

I recommend G4FON. It is a free download program and runs easily on computers.

It takes you through each letter of the alphabet and all the numbers, in a logical order that is easy to learn.

5. KL7AJ

KL7AJ Ham Member QRZ Page