HT recommends for beginner in urban environment (Manhattan)

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio Equipment Reviews' started by KLAUS57, Jul 28, 2016.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-3
ad: L-Geochron
ad: L-MFJ
  1. KLAUS57

KLAUS57 QRZ Member

Hello,
    I recently passed the Technician and General exams and am looking for a first radio. I live in an urban environment (Manhattan) and am looking for an HT that would function well at home and on trips to the suburban and rural parts of the tri-state area. I have a professional background in coding and am not that concerned about any complexities regarding the unit's programming (maybe I am over-confident). While I have a pretty good "book knowledge" of bands, propagation, repeaters, digital, D-Star and DMR, APRS, packets, power, antennae, modes, contact protocols, etc., I have zero practical experience with any of these things. I would very much appreciate recommendations for a first HT that would be effective in my situation, i.e., one that would be functional in an almost non-existent line-of-site environment (Manhattan apartment) as well as during frequent hiking and camping trips (and Central Park). Digital interests me, GPS and APRS would be nice, as would water resistance to a degree where I wouldn't have to worry about getting caught in a moderate rain storm. I expect that I will want an antenna upgrade, too. Cost concerns are more about value than absolutes; I would like to grow with the HT and not want to replace it in a year or so. Thanks in advance for any advice.

Klaus
    KD2LOJ

2. KA9JLM

KA9JLM Ham Member QRZ Page

To get started a U/V Baofeng works.

Then you can get a real radio after you get ready to spend a bunch of money.

Good Luck. Enjoy.

3. AC2KV

AC2KV Ham Member QRZ Page