ad: ProAudio-1

HRD 780 v5.24 BPSK Modulation and ALC

Discussion in 'Ham Radio Deluxe - HRD' started by AI4RA, Apr 4, 2017.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-3
ad: Subscribe
  1. AI4RA

AI4RA XML Subscriber QRZ Page

I use an Icom 7200 coupled with a Toshiba laptop, both of which seem to play very well together on digital modes. I use the USB port on the rig plugged into a USB port on the laptop for digimode transmissions.

I am a quite active PSK operator (mostly PSK31 but use PSK63 and PSK125 also), and have noticed quite a few overdriven PSK signals on the HF bands, some from ops using HRD 780. As most of you probably know, these show up on the waterfall trace as rather ugly sideband streaks on both sides of the main waterfall transmission for a given PSK signal. While I have received many compliments from other PSK operators about putting a clean signal on PSK, I must admit that I simply set up HRD to work on my ICOM 7200 and never paid much attention to the modulation level. After recently having a QSO with a ham who had such modulation problems and got criticized by a volunteer monitor for it, I started thinking about how I can make sure my own signal is consistently good on all bands on which I use PSK, preferably without always having to ask other operators how my signal looks to them.

I've heard that one should not see any ALC indication on the rig while using PSK (or other digital mode, for that matter), and so when I checked mine, I noted that it showed one or two ticks on it while transmitting. I tried to adjust the USB level on the rig as well as the TX slider bar in HRD, and neither seemed to affect the ALC reading on my rig in any way. What am I missing? Is there some other control on the 7200 or on HRD that I'm not aware of that could be causing this? Or is it normal on these Icoms to see one or two ticks on the ALC reading?