How To Adapt a Microphone System to a Rig

Discussion in 'Microphones, Speakers & Audio Processing' started by N6TDG, Dec 8, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-2
  1. N6TDG

N6TDG Ham Member QRZ Page

Hello all,

I have microphones that I use in another line of work as Voice of the Fair. So I have a MXL Broadcasters Microphone (Dynamic) that I plug into a Behringer USB mixing board and into my Macbook Pro for recording.

So my question is, how can I adapt such a microphone, (or any microphone for that matter) to plug into an Icom 751. I imagine that an adapter from the mixing board to the icom 8 pin plug. I would also guess that somewhere along that particular line would be a sort of PTT switch or button.

Be forewarned, I am not too technical, but after repeated beatings with a 2x4, this ol mule sometimes gets the idea.

I see that everyone raves about Heil micrphones, but frankly, there are others I would like to use, I just want to know how to do it.

As for the mixing board. It is not important for me to actually put more lows or highs in my voice. Over processing my voice is something that I usually avoid in production anyway.

Thanks in advance for any help for this ol guy getting into amateur radio later in life.

Oh and the Icom 751 is a radio that was gifted to me as my first HF rig. I have built a DX Commander Multi-Band Fan Vertical and getting ready to set that up once the rains subside. I did replace the memory board with a Piexx one here recently and getting anxious to turn everything on and clear out the dust!

Once again, thanks

2. WB2WIK

WB2WIK Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

The mixing board needn't be used for mixing or frequency equalization: To use it with a ham rig, its primary function would be to simply provide the right output level to drive the transmitter's mike input stage.

To this end, it should work fine.