How time changes things - Checking if frequency is in use on CW

Discussion in 'On-Air Operations - Q&A' started by KG5NII, Jul 2, 2017.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. KG5NII

KG5NII Ham Member QRZ Page

I'd like to begin by saying this is my first post to a forum on this web site and secondly, I am not questioning the general wisdom of those who have been in amateur radio for decades, instead I just wish to understand. So let me first give a little background before I pose my question.

I was a 12 yr. old novice way way back in the early 1970's. After being off the air for a very long time, 14 months or so ago I got back on the air with a brand new General Class license. I operate CW exclusively but occasionally I might use the PTT on a microphone just to do something different.

In the 'old days' back when I was a novice, I had numerous mentors who helped me with proper operating procedure. In those days being a kid, the FCC was this big huge governmental agency to fear and thus it was instilled into my young brain the utter importance of following FCC rules and regulations to the letter. In conjunction to this was learning proper operating procedure. It was drilled into my head these were the Holy Grail of Amateur Radio. I was taught while on CW, the proper way to check if the frequency was in use was to send two CW characters: "DIT-DIT, DIT" (I E). Or alternatively just " DIT-DIT" but the preferred way was "DIT-DIT, DIT ". I was made to understand this was how commercial professional CW operators did it. And so that was the procedure I followed. I was told this was the most efficient way to minimize any possible interference to stations that may already be on frequency.