How NOT to blow up my RSP1A...?

Discussion in 'Software Defined Radio (SDR)' started by WQ4G, Sep 18, 2020.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-MFJ
  1. WQ4G

WQ4G Ham Member QRZ Page

Hello:

I tried to ask this question in a different thread and did not seem to get a satisfactory answer. It was probably because my question was not clear. So I figured I would reword the question and try again...

I am new to SDR. I have an RSP1A receiver. I do NOT have my RSP1A connected to my Transmitter in any way. I am not trying to use my RSP1A with my Transmitter.

When NOT using my RSP1A, how do I protect it from stray RF? Like when it is NOT connected to an antenna and when it is just laying around the shack, how do I keep the RF from destroying the front end of the RSP1A?

I have been doing some very brief testing with the center conductor of the SMA connector of the RSP1A shorted to ground through the shield. I am doing this with an adapter cable (SMA to SO-239) and a PL-259 with a wire connected between the center pin and the outer shell. I then transmit with 10 watts into an outdoor antenna and watch for the size of the spike in the RSP1A receiver. Even with the antenna connector of the RSP1A shorted to ground and only using 10 watts transmit power the spike reaches just under +0 dBm. If I were to transmit at a 100 watt level, the spike in RSP1A receiver will most likely exceed the +10 dBm short duration maximum input power level specified by the manufacturer and destroy the front end of the receiver (so I'm afraid to try it). And, if the +10 dBm short duration maximum is not exceeded when I use 100 watts, I'm sure it will be exceeded when I switch on my amp...

Oh, I also tried removing the adapter coax cable completely - so that there was nothing connected to the antenna jack of the RSP1A. The spike in the receiver was still there...