How did you learn CW?

Discussion in 'Working Different Modes' started by NU8J, Jul 13, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: abrind-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
  1. NU8J

NU8J XML Subscriber QRZ Page

I am in the process of learning CW and wanted to see how you learned CW and what do you feel was the best way to learn.

2. 2E0OZI

2E0OZI Ham Member QRZ Page

I know the letters and numbers and a stuff like ? / and . and thats about it. So I am at the very early stages. made about 30 QSOs so far. For me daily practice with the small rpogramme I downloaded from the ARRL website - I think its call the Morse Machine not sure. About 40 minutes a day in 2 20 minute sessions. Then once I was running through all the characters OK at a speed about 12WPM I moved onto LCWO and straight to recognising callsigns. After 3 or 4 weeks of that I started practicing sending for about a week as well, and all through that period January - March 2012 listening to the CW portions of the bands....

Then I did my first QSO, almost by accident, when a very strong call came though on 30m and nobody was answering. So I did.

3. WB2WIK

WB2WIK Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

At the age of 13 because it was required to get a license. Practiced with a buddy who also wanted to become a ham, just by sending back and forth while together (no radios). We didn't have any tapes or records or CDs or computers, or anything. Just us.

It went pretty quickly and we had no idea what speed we were going. By the time we took our Novice tests (5 wpm requirement) it turns out we were going about 15 wpm and just didn't know that, so the code sounded horribly slow. But it was an easy way to learn.

4. KD0NZL

KD0NZL Ham Member QRZ Page