ad: vanity

Hope this question is in the appropriate forum

Discussion in 'Ham Radio Discussions' started by KX5ALC, Jun 13, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
ad: l-gcopper
ad: abrind-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
ad: l-BCInc
  1. KX5ALC

KX5ALC Ham Member QRZ Page

I'm very new to this hobby. (Bloody new!!!!!) I just stumbled onto a line-of-site calculator today that will help me in deciding how high to make the mast for my new station. I'm only on 2-meter at this point, so "height is might" for right now. Some of the repeaters in my area show their height above the average terrain..........but many/most don't. The ARRL Repeater book doesn't show the info I'm looking for. How do I go about finding that information for individual repeaters?

73's
    Cheers

Chris

2. WZ7U

WZ7U Ham Member QRZ Page

Chris,
    Perhaps radioreference.com might get those specs.

Another, more research heavy option is to get the lat/lon data of the repeater and use Google earth to give you altitudes.

Heywhatsthat is helpful too. I like the coverage shadows.

N3AWS, KX5ALC and K0UO like this.
  3. KX5ALC

Thanks for those suggestions. I'll check them.

Yes, Google Earth is my friend, for sure. But all it shows is the elevation of the ground at those coordinates............not the height above terrain of the antenna.

4. KP4SX

KP4SX Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Often you can see the antenna site with Street View.

N3AWS likes this.
  5. KX5ALC

You've much better eyes than I. I've never seen any repeaters on Google Earth.

6. ND5Y

ND5Y Ham Member QRZ Page

Generally you can't find it because it's not published in online databases.
    Sometimes a club will have all the repeater specs on their web site. Aside from that you would have to ask the repeater owner.

KX5ALC and KA0HCP like this.
  7. ND5Y

ND5Y Ham Member QRZ Page

Towers are easy to find if you know what they look like.