ad: UR5CDX-1

Homebrew dummy load readings

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by KN4YRM, May 31, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: HRDLLC-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: L-Geochron
ad: abrind-2
  1. KN4YRM

KN4YRM XML Subscriber QRZ Page

I've never used a dummy load before so trying to understand if I've had successful build or not...

I made a low power dummy load using 2 100Ohm resistors in parallel, each rated for 100W.
    Housed inside an aluminum case typically used for guitar pedals.
    Multimeter reads 50.1 Ohms.

On VHF FM I put 5W then 10W into it, SWR meter shows ~2.3.

On HF (40m & 20m) SWR is fairly flat around 1-1.5 as I speak into the mic, but occasionally seems to "blip" up to 3 but comes down.

Is this the way a dummy load behaves, or should it be dead on 1:1 at all frequencies?

2. W4HWD

W4HWD Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Assuming the rigs are 50 ohms, you could have a heating problem; heating the resistors can change SWR; increasing time and increasing frequency will increase heat. Heathkit had a Cantenna, which consisted of a non-inductive resistor floating in (I think) mineral oil, sealed in a 1 gallon paint can. That thing was rated at 1kw for a few minutes, and the can would get warm. Others use air cooling; such designs would be rated for lower power and shorter intervals.

Also, the resistors must be non-inductive and the wattage rating has to be high enough to dissipate heat at a certain power level.

Now I know when you parallel resistors you get half the resistance; I don't know if that halves the power rating too, so someone more smarter needs to chime in.

3. KN4YRM

KN4YRM XML Subscriber QRZ Page

These are the resistors I had around https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07KJZW6ZT/

I very much doubt heating, but the non-inductive qualification you gave could be a problem as they are described as "Wirewound Resistor" which I assume implies some kind of coil inside?