Homebrew basics

Discussion in 'Homebrew and Kit Projects' started by KB3LAZ, Aug 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-Geochron
ad: abrind-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: HRDLLC-2
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
  1. KB3LAZ

KB3LAZ Ham Member QRZ Page

Ok guys and gals I am new to the homebrew concept and would like some pointers. I can use a soldering iron/gun and I know the difference between tubes and transistors, lol. If I do a search on the web or in my many books I find many projects to start of with and kits to buy, but whats a good place to start? Should I buy a kit or build from scratch by following a project out of one of my books? Also should I start off with an amateur radio project or something smaller? I think it would be nice to build a qrp cw transmitter and receiver pair, would this be a bad first choice? Also if you think it necessary for me to start off by reading some important book or explanatory article feel free to suggest one because there are many of them out there and I havent the slightest clue where to start. Feel free to treat me as a complete newbie to this topic as I am one.:p Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!!!

Thx and 73 de kb3laz

PS I would really like to use tubes in my project!

2. KB3LAZ

Oh ya I forgot to mention that I have no test equipment!
    Is this going to be a vital tool for even small projects?
    If it is will it be a big expense to get these material?
    If so I may have to wait a while because money does not go far with my current situation. I only work part time during the school year.
    Also If I do need test equipment will it be hard to learn how to use it?
    I think I am putting the horse before the cart at this point, lol. :p

3. AB8RO

AB8RO Ham Member QRZ Page

Anywhere!