HF SSB results have been disappointing, advice needed

Discussion in 'General Technical Questions and Answers' started by N0IOP, Nov 6, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
  1. N0IOP

N0IOP Ham Member QRZ Page

I've finished my antenna projects. I have a 2m vertical 10' above my roof that is working great. I have no trouble hitting repeaters 40 miles away, and have had several fun QSOs with the local amateur radio community. I had projected coverage using the utility at https://www.ve2dbe.com, which looked like this (assuming a 50' AGL repeater antenna):

[​IMG]

Some of my QSOs have been outside the area of predicted coverage, notably being able to get into the Red Wing repeater in the center of the right edge of the map.

However, HF results have been disappointing using my 43' vertical. (construction thread: https://forums.qrz.com/index.php?threads/43-vertical-using-wire.678545/)

I am new to HF and could use some help understanding what's going on.

I have an FT-891 transceiver going into manual tuner. There are remotely switchable coils at the base of the antenna for tuning 160m and 80m. There are ground radials, around 15 of them, of varying lengths and covering about 260 degrees of the circle around the base of the antenna. I've swept everything with a NanoVNA and recorded tuner settings for each band. The antenna tunes well for all bands from 160m to 15m which is where I intended to use it. I've confirmed tuning on each band with test transmissions and am getting SWRs around 1.1 as measured by the tuner.

Feedline from the tuner to vertical is 40 feet of FSJ2-50 which should have around 0.1 dB to 0.2 dB loss depending on frequency, so even allowing for SWR, I should be getting most of my 100 watts to the antenna. The feedline is wrapped through a combination of ferrite cores to serve as a choke.

The local soil provides an excellent ground.