HF Digital Error correcting? Also, what's up with PSK31?

Discussion in 'General Technical Questions and Answers' started by N0NS, Oct 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
  1. N0NS

N0NS Ham Member QRZ Page

Are there any digital HF modes that provide error correcting, can be decoded by a standard piece of software (e.g. DigiPan, DM780, etc.) and are “free”?

Last night I had a QSO using PSK31 and the band conditions were fairly up and down. I lost some of the information from the other station and thought that it would be great to switch from PSK31 to some mode that had error correction. I then realized that I could not switch to a mode in DM780 that provided any error correction. So, does an error correction mode exist?

Also, I’m relatively new to the digital modes after taking an extensive leave from amateur radio. Why is everyone so enamored with PSK31? On DM780, there are quite a few other modes and I rarely see anything other then PSK31. What’s the deal?

Thanks for your input! Joe N0NS

2. KR2D

KR2D Ham Member QRZ Page

Switching from BPSK to QPSK might be helpful. I don't think it has real error correction, but it can be more robust.

Olivia has forward error correction, and it works very well. I've seen Olivia continue to work when the signal fades to humanly undetectable - can't hear it, and can't see it on the waterfall, but it keeps chugging along. However, switching modes mid-QSO can be a problem. PSK31 is the narrowest mode commonly used. The most common bandwidth for Olivia is 500 Hz, if you switch to that in the middle of the PSK31 segment, you will make a lot of people angry.

3. K0RGR

K0RGR Premium Subscriber QRZ Page