ad: SDRKits-1

help with noise

Discussion in 'General Technical Questions and Answers' started by KE0YRP, Dec 11, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
  1. KE0YRP

KE0YRP Ham Member QRZ Page

Hi everyone. I'm new to amateur radio and I'm having difficulty with noise. It's only on certain frequencies, but several frequencies. It's on my Yaesu FTM-400. I've put toroids on my power line to the Yaesu, the antenna, the UPS for my computer, and my refrigerator. I thought turning off the computer worked for a minute, but then I was getting noise again. I can turn up the squelch to like 60-80% to get rid of the vast majority of it, but that doesn't seem like the best solution. Any ideas what I can do? antenna is a Slim Jim role up j-pole. I had it hanging on the wall near a power outlet, but I just moved it to my closet door away from power and there was no change.

Here are some videos of the noise:

Anyway, I'm hoping my tech call sign shows up in the ULS today. this is kind of a frustrating start.

Attached Files:

2. K7TRF

K7TRF Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

A few thoughts:

- It's always best to take care of noise problems at their source if at all possible rather than trying to fix them at the victim unit (the rig). Sure sometimes well placed chokes can help but it's always better to track down the root cause of the noise and fix it there whenever possible.