Help with mobile rig

Discussion in 'Mobile Radio Systems' started by KF7MKV, Jan 23, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: abrind-2
ad: QSOToday-1
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
  1. KF7MKV

KF7MKV Ham Member QRZ Page

Hi All,
    My name is Brad, I'm relatively new to the hobby. I recently purchased a Yaesu FT-100D and am looking to get a mobile rig going in the SUV. I was hoping someone(s) might be able to answer some rookie questions I have.

1. With regard to getting power to the radio. Do they sell a kit? Maybe something that has all of the power cable and appropriate fuse holders?

2. Any suggestions on a tuner? There is a Yaesu FC-20 on craigslist. I just want to be sure it will work w/the antenna I am using

3. Antenna switching. I plan to use a Diamond antenna for 70cm 2meter and 6m, use a 102 in whip for 10-15 meters, and use hamsticks for 20 and 40, so a total of 4 antenna's. I'll sure get some looks w/that setup for sure.

So you can see the problem here. I need some kind of automatic (preferred) or manual switch to change antennas when I change bands. Do they make this? Also will that tuner tune a 102 in whip to 15 meters?

Any input would be welcomed. Again I am new to this so if you have suggestions or input on how to improve this setup please let me know.

Thanks 73

2. NY3V

NY3V Ham Member QRZ Page

1. You can use a car audio amp power kit.

2. You can use a Trap Or, a Screwdriver & Controller type multi band mobile vertical antenna.

Just Goggle amateur radio multi band mobile antennas or, go to one of the Ham Radio equipment vendor sites and look at their catalogs. You can then search under the antenna model number to find out comments and reviews of their performance.

Good Luck

3. K0RGR

K0RGR Premium Subscriber QRZ Page