ad: Schulman-1

Help with mobile antenna and mounting

Discussion in 'Mobile Radio Systems' started by KD0OAS, Apr 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
ad: Subscribe
  1. KD0OAS

KD0OAS Ham Member QRZ Page

I am new to ham radio, just got my tech license a few weeks ago, and could use some help with getting a mobile antenna and a way to mount it. Since I'm new to this hobby I don't know a lot of the jargon or technical things so please go easy on me.

The radio was relatively easy to pick out, I got a Yaesu FT-7900R, but antennas are a bit more difficult since there are so many of them, here is what I've chosen so far with my research.

Comet CA-2x4SR with the NMO mount
    http://www.theantennafarm.com/catal...fo&cPath=191_192_200_450_453&products_id=1593

This mount and cable with a loose PL-259 end so I can cut the cable to whatever length I need, and it will be attached to the back of my Jeep Wrangler.
    http://www.theantennafarm.com/catal...duct_info&cPath=264_269_1041&products_id=1191

So what do you all think about my choices? Am I doing it all wrong? Any input is appreciated. Thanks!

-Brandon

Last edited: Apr 4, 2011
  2. WB2WIK

WB2WIK Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

3. KD0NSC

KD0NSC Ham Member QRZ Page

KDØOAS....I just orderd the same radio(will be here WEDs)and went thru the same delema.......I have a MFJ-1729 that I am going to use for now just to get on 2m untill i get brave enough to have a 3/4 hole drilled in my trk roof....

I have a 011 F250 and after all the headaches about witch antenna I desided to go with the
    NMO-2/70 antenna and the NMO-K mounting kit for about 70 bucks(going to order it nxt week) .....Now I need to find a shop to drill and install it,plus I also need to run the power from battery(not as easy as it sounds after looking at it).....

4. KD0OAS

KD0OAS Ham Member QRZ Page