Help with baluns for non-dipole/non-beam antennas

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by K3RW, Sep 26, 2015.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: FBNews-1
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
ad: Subscribe
  1. K3RW

K3RW Ham Member QRZ Page

I'm new to homebrewing antennas, and I can't find a definitive answer on this one. I did 'Google' it first and buzz through the forums but still don't know. Building a dipole and an end-fed was easy.

I want to build a loop antenna--the design says to use a 1:1 balun. Ok. Now, which one, and how?

All the baluns I've seen are either for dipoles or beams. Instead of using the wrong terms, I'll just say the dipole balun I'm looking at has a plug for the 'big coax' going into the base of it, and two posts coming out the sides of the top. In a traditional dipole, that's where both sides connect. Ok.

But for a loop, or any non-dipole is that the right one to use? And how would I use it? Make the whole loop and connect it to only ONE of the posts? Make the whole loop connecting both posts like a big circle? Get a different balun that only has one post? I just can't figure out how to hook the smaller wire to the balun for a loop antenna.

Some people have stripped the coax, built a torroid thing, wrapped some stuff, and made it work. I'd rather buy something then trust my skills on that.

I'm also interested in building a single spiral antenna. Same issue here. Feeding in the 'big coax' to a balun to match to a much smaller feed line, but not sure how to hook up what would be a single wire. I'm guessing the answer is the same.

Unfortunately all the antenna plans I saw just say use a 1:1 balun and don't specify a model or show the connection close enough to tell how or which one they did.

2. K8JD

K8JD Ham Member QRZ Page

BalUn for a Loop antenna?