Help on IC-7300 sound card--Windows 10 driver install

Discussion in 'Computers, Hardware, and Operating Systems' started by KE9RJM, Jun 23, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: l-assoc
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
  1. KE9RJM

KE9RJM Ham Member QRZ Page

I screwed up, I plugged the new IC-7300 into the USB before I downloaded the correct USB driver. Now device manager doesn't show the correct driver for the 7300....tried uninstalling the device in device manager and then letting it find new equipment but nothing. It just shows a "prolific port on com 3"

Any ideas .....?

Thanks, Bob
    KE9RJM

2. KD8DEY

KD8DEY Ham Member QRZ Page

did you try un archiving the correct driver into a directory you can find?
    then try updating the driver and pointing to that directory?

3. KE9RJM

Sorry , should have mentioned that i am not very good with the computer...I don't know what you mean by un-archiving the driver , I did try uninstalling and reinstalling it to no effect....

4. KD8DEY

depends on the package the driver is in. Some programs create a directory where it puts the drivers. Others may come in a Zip file or self extracting archive that has to be "Un archived" to some place on the drive ( some directory that you know where to find them at) that you can access....
    BTW what program are you trying to use with the 7300? HRD?
    Could be that everything is fine, that you only need to tell the software you are wanting to use
    what com port too look at (Com 3) and set the data rate...

Last edited: Jun 23, 2018
  5. KE9RJM

It created a zip which i extracted and i know where the 64 bit driver is, but even after a restart the "silicon" ports are not being recognized, just the "prolific " port.

6. KD8DEY

The "Prolific" port is the USB to Serial port Emulator...Makes your USB port look like a serial port to the system (Serial port 3 (Com 3)