Hello I am new here

Discussion in 'Becoming an Amateur Radio Operator/Upgrading Privi' started by HHARVEY, Sep 8, 2015.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
  1. HHARVEY

HHARVEY QRZ Member

I am studying for the technician test. I have also been researching my first radio.
    I like the IC-2730A. This is at the top end of my budget. I have watch a few review videos and I have downloaded the literature and manual from the I-Com web site.
    Is there any reason I should abandon this radio and start looking and something else.
    -HH (no call sign yet)

2. AI2SS

AI2SS Ham Member QRZ Page

I can't say much about the radio, but good luck with your test! There's a lot of fun times ahead and you'll wind up making some good friends.

3. HHARVEY

HHARVEY QRZ Member

Thanks. I think I am ready to take the test. I have been getting 85s and higher on the online test, but I want to get make sure I know why an answer is correct not just what is the correct answer.

4. AI2SS

AI2SS Ham Member QRZ Page

That's a great attitude and will certainly help when you get on the air. :)

5. WC3T

WC3T Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Good luck on your upcoming test! If there's a local hamfest in your area in the near future, you might go there and try some radios to see how you like them.

6. HHARVEY

HHARVEY QRZ Member

That is a good ideal. The next hamfest near me is not until the end of October. If I pass my test on the 19th I would have to wait awhile if I go with that. Maybe I should buy one of the very cheap handhelds and do more research before I buy my first good rig.

7. WC3T

WC3T Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

You can't go wrong doing that. Just get on the air. :)

8. K0RGR

K0RGR Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

I just read the reviews on this rig on eHam.net, and I think I would avoid the IC2730a. I used to own it's predecessor, the IC2720, and