Happy 70th Anniversary Novices

Discussion in 'Ham Radio Discussions' started by W0IS, Jul 1, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-Geochron
ad: HRDLLC-2
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. W0IS

W0IS Ham Member QRZ Page

The Novice class license got its start 70 years ago Thursday, on July 1, 1951. Actually, that was a Sunday, so the first test didn't take place until July 2, and the first licenses didn't hit the mailboxes until a few weeks later. But it was made official 70 years ago.

I got mine about 23 years later. But the questions I studied looked quite similar to the original 28 study questions published in QST in 1951.

http://onetuberadio.com/2021/07/01/novice-license-1951/

K2MMO, W4LJ, K0UO and 2 others like this.
  2. N2EY

N2EY XML Subscriber QRZ Page

I got mine 16 years later (1967).

The Novice was part of the 1951 restructuring that also gave us the Technician and Extra license classes, and renamed the old Class A, B and C licenses to Advanced, General and Conditional, respectively.

The original Novice license tests were given at FCC offices, unless the prospective ham was a shut-in or lived more than 125 miles from a quarterly exam point. The new license was so popular that in 1954 the FCC changed the rules to make all routine Novice (and Technician) tests by-mail, regardless of distance from an FCC exam point.

The Novice test was always multiple choice from the beginning, even though the study guide was in essay form.

73 de Jim, N2EY

K0UO likes this.
  3. F8WBD

F8WBD Ham Member QRZ Page

I read of an American Novice radio amateur who remained in that class all his active life, (when Novice was renewable). CW only on 80 meters. Performed all maintenance on his home-brew station. Antennas, etc. Helped others. No doubt could have gone on to a higher level but chose not to. Wasn't pressured. Wasn't insecure. As I recall, now an SK.

W5ESE likes this.
  4. W0IS

W0IS Ham Member QRZ Page