ad: M2Ant-1

HAMS SUPPORTING BOY SCOUTS OF AMERICA......

Discussion in 'Ham Radio Discussions' started by WD0BC, Aug 12, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-2
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
  1. WD0BC

WD0BC Ham Member QRZ Page

SOMETIMES "THANK YOU" IS JUST NOT ENOUTH !!!! THE STORY OF HAMS DONATING TO BOY SCOUTING.......

YES ....SOMETIMES JUST NOT ADEQUATE.....THE STORY FOLLOWS

THE STORY: I HAVE BEEN DOING RADIO MERIT BADGE FOR SEVERAL YEARS AT OUR LOCAL BOY SCOUT CAMP, CAMP GEIGER LOCATED NEAR SAINT JOSEPH, MO WHEN I TOOK OVER THE CLASSES I HAD THE ABILITY TO INTRODUCE SCOUTS TO CW.....FOLLOW ME HERE....

THE FIRST TWO DAYS OF THE HOUR 5 DAY CLASS ANOTHER STAFF MEMBER DOES A SCRIPTED GENERAL OVERVIEW EDUCATION HOW RADIO WORKS .
    ON THE THIRD DAY "HAM RADIO" IS INTRODUCED. WE GIVE THEM SOME HISTORY ABOUT "HAMS" AND THEN WE SET UP OUR CW SOUNDERS. THE MFJ 455 UNITS AND INTRODUCE THE SCOUTS TO CW... WE START OFF WITH JUST ....E I S H 5 AND T M O 0. WE GIVE THEM JUST ENOUGH TO 'HOOK THEM'. THEY ARE AMAZED WHAT THEY DAN DO ......"WE HAVE THEM HOOKED"
    THE LAST TWO DAYS WE PUT THE SCOUTS ON AIR FOR A TEN MINUTE QSO. WHILE NOT NO THE AIR THE OTHERS HAVE CW TO KEEP THEM BUSY...

ALL THE WHILE THEY ARE BEING BRAINWASHED ABOUT ALL THE DIFFERENT ASPECTS OF HAM RADIO ......THEY KNOW WHAT IT IS AND WHAT THEY CAN DO.

WE HAD THREE SOUNDERS DONATED YEARS AGO AND I BORROWED A COUPLE BUT THOSE WERE GETTING 'SQUEAKEY' AND NEED UPGRADED OR REPLACED. I PUT A POST ON QRZ AND EHAM ASKING THAT ANYONE HAD THE SOUNDER LYING AROUND THAT THEY CONSIDER SENDING TO MYSELF FOR USE AT CAMP.......

I NOW HAVE 15 YES FIFTEEN BRAND NEW MFJ-455 SOUNDER UNITS! SIMPLY AMAZING THE RESPONCE I GOT FROM HAMS AROUND THE COUNTRY. BELOW IS THE LIST OF FOLKS THAT DONATED.....

N9GC USA
    Thomas W McGrath, III
    15319 Shamrock Ln
    Woodstock, IL 60098
    USA

CHRISTINE @ MAIN TRADING COMPANY
    2707 LAMAR AVENEW
    PARIS, TX 75460