Ham Radio Is Tired, Old, and Sick

Discussion in 'Ham Radio Discussions' started by KF5LJW, Jan 30, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: l-assoc
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
ad: Subscribe
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. KF5LJW

KF5LJW Ham Member QRZ Page

OK that was just to get your attention so calm down. The irony is there is some truth to it; ham radio is a lot like an 8-Track Tape. This thread I started got me thinking about it. Younger generations are just not impressed with the hobby. They do not care anything about DX, Contest, or Digital modes as they exist today. Anything we can do with our radios, they can do better with a Cell Phone, and Cell Phones can do things we cannot even attempt.

I just turned 60, semiretired, but still do consulting work with my company I left to my Son to grow. I am a professional engineer and have worked in Utility Power Generation, Commercial Broadcast, and Telecom in my career. Last company I worked for was Verizon Wireless. In 2003 during the Telecom bust, I started my own company doing the same thing I did for a lot more money for the same people who laid me off and their competitors.

As a kid I bought my own first crystal radio set around the age of 10. By 12 years old helped my uncle who was an electrical contractor, and by age 16 I could fix any TV or Radio ever made and worked on countless Ham Radios ever since. Got into ham radio at age 18 just before I went into college to study Electrical Engineering. Back then Ham Radio had cutting edge technology. Example many may not know Ham Radio had the first Internet and Packet Radio. Baud rates reached 1200 b/s, and to this day I know there are 10’s of thousands IPV4 addresses reserved for Hams, but there is no use for them. There is no STINKING BANDWIDTH to work with.