Grounding for my temporary setup / low power transmit

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by KD2RWV, Apr 19, 2020.

Tags:
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
ad: L-Geochron
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: HRDLLC-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. KD2RWV

KD2RWV Ham Member QRZ Page

I'm a newbie, and don't have a dedicated spot for my radio yet. I have been setting up my end fed 10/20/40m dipole, putting the radio on the living room desk, and running 25' coax through the window to the antenna when I want to listen. I tear it all down when I'm done. I know the radio chassis should be grounded (in addition to the 3rd prong on the power cord) and there's a lug on the back for it, but I'm not sure how / where to ground it since my living room desk is all the way around the house from the electrical service ground point. I am not at risk of lightning because I would tear it all down if a storm came through, but I am getting ready to try transmitting for the first time and I thought maybe I should get it grounded for that? I'm limited to transmitting 25W by the antenna, but I don't think the transmit power matters, it should still be grounded, right? I am concerned that pounding a ground rod in near the transceiver is a bad idea, as I should probably tie to the common house ground point if I'm going to ground it at all?

Any thoughts are welcome.

On a side note, do you think it'd be smart to use a choke at the end of the feed line to avoid the coax ending up radiating? If I did that, would I still need to ground the chassis of the transceiver?

2. WA9UAA

WA9UAA Ham Member QRZ Page

Hi OM,
    We probably need to know more about the antenna and it's matching network. There is a chance it needs a counterpoise wire attached to the box as well as the radiator. An end-fed wire will need a return path for the radiator or it will use the coax as you suggested above. Wait on the choke, you may not need it.
    Rob

3. K7TRF