Ground rods and exothermic welding

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by AC0GV, Mar 26, 2020 at 4:47 PM.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: l-BCInc
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
  1. AC0GV

AC0GV Ham Member QRZ Page

I mentioned cad welding in a post a few days ago and today found my pictures. They are a permanent joint and will not corrode. I used the Cadweld one shots but they also come in other forms. They must be the correct size for your ground rod and wire size, or the molten metal will run out like mercury.
    cadweld 2.JPG Cadweld1.JPG

KK4NSF likes this.
  2. KK4NSF

KK4NSF Ham Member QRZ Page

Cad Welding is the best possible joint for bonding grounding rods to grounding cables. That is why they are required by many building codes for commercial lightning protection. I shot a few thousand of them back when I was a lowly Engineer-in-Training. Then later when I got my license, I had the job of supervising all the new EIT's. That was a lot more fun!

As you pointed out, you must have the right mold and shots for the size of bar, and the cable. For a typical ham it can get pricey unless you have a whole bunch of cables to shoot. I do know however of one club that all went in together, bought the molds, and shot everybody's grounding system as a club project.

W1TRY likes this.
  3. NG1H

NG1H Ham Member QRZ Page

A Cadweld connection is not just for the ground rod. You can also use it to attach the cable to the tower, make splices in cables and ground rods, all sorts of things. The hard part is finding someone with all the molds because as KK4NSF mentioned they can get pricey. The cost of the "shot" isn't too bad, though.

As others have mentioned it is the best system I've seen for attaching ground cable.

4. W9KEY

W9KEY XML Subscriber QRZ Page