Getting Started

Discussion in 'Becoming an Amateur Radio Operator/Upgrading Privi' started by KD9RJX, Jun 1, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: HRDLLC-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-3
ad: L-Geochron
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: abrind-2
  1. KD9RJX

KD9RJX Ham Member QRZ Page

Hello all. I am a fairly new licensed operator, took both the technician and general right at the end of January, and am looking for information sources in getting started. I did go to ARRL.org and looked for area clubs and have emailed four different ones in my area. I did this right after getting my ticket and once again in March and haven't heard back from any of them as of yet. I am assuming the Covid restrictions might be causing some problems. Anyway, QRZ looks to be a pretty expansive resource but I am wondering if there are any others that folks would suggest checking out.

Bob Hill
    KD9RJX

2. PU2OZT

PU2OZT Ham Member QRZ Page

Well, QRZ or the "Z" is quite exhaustive, not a topic that wouldn't be dealt with, back, or anew, in a couple or in a four-days span, and there are many many many facets to our hobby, not to mention closed-to-reply threads, some quite informative.
    I started reading eham (dot) net, well before passing my exam (was incredibly difficult to get into a session, had to travel, and I am living in the biggest city of Latin America, go figure!) so that I had already planned what I would be doing once licensed, antenna, modes, bands. rig.
    I even already had a Kent straight key hooked to a makeshift CPO.
    These are the basic questions, when you've answered all them, starting with ANTENNA possibilities, you'll be jumping to the straightforward pieces of information.