FT8 Split Mode - how to?

Discussion in 'Working Different Modes' started by KD2NOM, Sep 16, 2017.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
  1. KD2NOM

KD2NOM XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Good morning,

I have been working FT8 for a couple of months now and have quite a few contacts. I have been stumped with one feature however - Split mode.

I have a Yaesu FT-450D and if I run split mode 'fake it' - it seems to work for the first couple of transmits - meaning that if I tune to 7.074 and I attempt to QSO with a contact below 1600Hz, the frequency on the VFO drops to the appropriate frequency during tx, and then returns to 7.074 for rx. However after a couple of transmits, the tx frequency remains, and then each subsequent TX lowers the frequency until I am completely out of range - 'chasing' the contact down the band.

If I set WSJT-X to 'rig' mode - I lose the 'S' in the frequency circle (although it stays green). I see the VFO briefly switch from A to B on tx, however I don't believe it is actually transmitting on the second VFO. If I select 'split' on my rig - I get the 'S' in the frequency circle until the first transmit - then it is gone.

I've yet to determine if this is a rig issue, software issue or cable issue. I use a CAT cable to control and the WSJT-X software is set to 'FT-450' (there is not D option).

Has anyone been able to successfully run in split mode using an FT-450D (or any other rig for that matter)? I am running RC2 version of WSJT-X.

Best regards,

Mark - KD2NOM

2. K1WTF

K1WTF Ham Member QRZ Page

IC-7300 here, rig split mode works well. VFO A is set to listening frequency, VFO B is transmit frequency. Just note that depending on where you are in the 'waterfall' your rig may or may not change frequency to TX. In settings under advanced, there is a 'Receiver Bandwidth' setting that will determine when your rig uses split mode.