FT8 Decode EOT Jack Hammer Sounds

Discussion in 'On-Air Operations - Q&A' started by N2CG, Aug 12, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. N2CG

N2CG Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Greetings Fellow FT8 Ops,

I've been operating on FT8 mode for the past nine months. Beginning about 2-3 weeks ago I started hearing "strange" (for lack of a better term) FT8 decode end of transmission (EOT) sounds.

Depending on the audio range of the FT8 signal being received these EOT's mimic what sounds like a jack hammer, a Jake brake or a machine gun with 8-9 rapid successive bursts! On a very busy FT8 mode band like 20m, it's almost impossible to identify for sure which station is using this FT8 decode EOT jack hammer sound.

Are other FT8 ops also hearing these decode EOT jack hammer sounds? Are these sounds intentional; and if so what useful purpose do they offer?

73, George N2CG

AD8BU likes this.
  2. AD8BU

AD8BU Ham Member QRZ Page

I personally haven't heard it on the FT-8 frequencies, but what you describe sounds like an over the horizon radar, commonly known as a "Russian Woodpecker."

3. AD8BU

Here's a better example than the one above:

4. N2CG

N2CG Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Thanks Frank AD8BU for your recent two replies to my Initial post asking about FT8 Decode EOT Jack Hammer Sounds on this QRZ.COM On-Air Operations - Q&A forum back on August 12, 2018.

After several weeks of not receiving any replies to my QRZ.COM post I joined the FT8-Digital-Mode@groups.io group and posted the same inquiry. Soon after I started receiving replies from several ops like you who also believed these Jack Hammer sounds
    were caused by Over The Horizon Radar (OTHR).

I viewed and listened to the two YouTube videos you posted above and the OTHR in these videos sounds exactly like what I heard on the decode EOT FT8 signals.