Ft240-31 toroid RF choke/1:1 balun build help.

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by KJ7LPI, Apr 17, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: abrind-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
ad: L-Geochron
ad: L-MFJ
ad: HRDLLC-2
  1. KJ7LPI

KJ7LPI Ham Member QRZ Page

Hello, I am in the process of building a 5 band fan dipole ( 80-40-20-15 and 10 meter) and am wrapping the ft240-31 ferrite toroid with 16 gauge silver coated copper insulated wire. I am wondering how many wraps and what directions? I am finding multiple ways of doing it and the one I tried which says 12 wraps one way and 12 wraps the other way with 2 different wires didn’t fit on the toroid. So now I have 13 wraps of 2 wires and that’s all that will fit. Am I on the correct track or is there a calculator that I can use to figure out what I need to do? Thanks all in advance. I’m just learning this stuff.

Attached Files:

2. KH6AQ

KH6AQ Ham Member QRZ Page

This website has a number of FT240-31 core choke designs to chose from. For 80-10 meters the 12 turns of RG-58 looks to be the best compromise. To see how much the ~30" of ~100 ohm line comprising the choke alters the 10 meter SWR I ran an EZNEC simulation. It lowers the 10 meter band resonant frequency and that can be compensated for by a bit of dipole trimming, 3 inches or so. 24 turns is too many and will compromise the choke common-mode impedance on the upper end of the HF band as shown by the 17 turn design.

Last edited: Apr 17, 2021
  3. K7JOE

K7JOE Subscriber QRZ Page

KH6AQ likes this.
  4. KH6AQ

That is an interesting choke design. Rather than built as a transmission line as RF chokes tend to be it utilizes two coupled inductors as is used in things such as EMI CM chokes.

SM0GLD likes this.
  5. SM0GLD

SM0GLD Ham Member QRZ Page

It is not a suitable design for RF. It will result in increased leakage inductance.