ad: MyersEng-1

FROM TECHNICIAN TO EXTRA IN 2 MONTHS!

Discussion in 'General Announcements' started by KE8OOV, Aug 19, 2020.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Radclub22-2
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: abrind-2
  1. KE8OOV

KE8OOV Ham Member QRZ Page

Hello fellow amateurs and amateurs to be! I'm posting this to encourage those of you who are upgrading or looking forward to getting an amateur license. On June 13th, I passed the Technician exam. After passing the Technician exam, I decided that I wanted to go all the way so that I could have all of the privileges of the license. On July 11th, I passed the General license. I then started to study for the Extra license. It was a lot harder, so for the last two weeks before taking the exam, I turned the TV off and bucked down. First I studied each section, 1 thru 10 with a $4 app that not only had the questions and answers, but an explanation of the answers. Then I took the sections exams on QRZ.COM. IT'S FREE! Once I was consistently getting 80 and above on the section exams, I started taking the practice exams...the 50 question exams. When I was getting in the high 80's and above consistently, I knew that I was ready to take the Extra exam. I took the Extra exam on August 15th and passed with a 92.
    I learned in the Marines, and in college afterwards, that you don't try to learn everything before taking the exams. If you try to do that, you will never pass the exam. Most of it is like, "ON THE JOB TRAINING". In other words, you'll learn what it means after you pass the exam.
    One guy asked me, "Yea, but do you know your stuff?" I politely let him know that...you won't know most of it until you start doing it. I also told him that he should congratulate the person and not criticize.
    Everyone will have their own method of studying for the exam/exams, but this is what worked for me.
    Stay safe everyone!

AA5BK, W0PV, M1WML and 8 others like this.
  2. KM1H

KM1H Ham Member QRZ Page