FOX HOUND OPERATION

Discussion in 'On-Air Operations - Q&A' started by WA4MIT, Oct 24, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. WA4MIT

WA4MIT XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Hello I have been a digital operator since the 80`s and the new FT modes are a real boon to ham radio in this down turn of the Solar Cycle. However before you jump into the FT modes you need to read and learn the proper way to use them. The frequencies and different modes require different operating procedures than you
    might be familiar with. The FT Fox Hound mode is a good example of this and the originators have provided
    a very good concise guide to help get anyone started. I just wanted to point out something here that is very wrong in the way some are using the F/H mode.
    When you and only when you are copying the Fox station the proper way to call is to use split operation and be above 1khz in the audio spectrum when you transmit. The Fox will always operation lower than 1khz and if you call the Fox on his transmit freq then you interfere with a station trying to answer the Fox station. This split procedure gives the Fox a clear listening freq for those he answers to respond without this type of interference. If the Fox station cannot copy then he will have to cease operation and nobody is able to work him. This is happening now with the VU7RI operation and he is not able to work many station because of it. Please be considerate of others and learn the new modes and have fun and be able to work the DX stations so everyone can work them. http://physics.princeton.edu/pulsar/K1JT/wsjtx.html Scroll down near the bottom of page for the Documentation in several languages

Best 73 and thanks for reading hope to work you some time.
    Morris WA4MIT

KG5THG likes this.
  2. KG5THG

KG5THG XML Subscriber QRZ Page