ad: chuckmartin

FlexRadio Software Defined Radio

Discussion in 'Ham Radio Discussions' started by W5MBB, Aug 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
  1. W5MBB

W5MBB Ham Member QRZ Page

I finding myself needing some new radio gear and I was looking at the FlexRadio and was wondering whats the benifit of running a software defined radio compaired to a traditional rig. Has anyone use these radios and find any better preformance or any noticable reason other than the coolness factor to spend that much money on a sdr? I myself have never used one and am consedering a ICOM rig.

2. NS8N

NS8N Ham Member QRZ Page

I have no experience with one. But just wanted to say that I too have a hard time justifying the cost. On the upside I have heard many good things about their performance as an all around transceiver. There are so many rigs out there that can be operated via software AND knobs though...

//2 cents

3. WB3FTQ

WB3FTQ Premium Subscriber QRZ Page