fldigi's waterfall has no relationship with the vfo

Discussion in 'Software Defined Radio (SDR)' started by KD0UCA, Mar 22, 2020.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
ad: Subscribe
  1. KD0UCA

KD0UCA Ham Member QRZ Page

I'm new to CAT control, so apologies for what may be a simple fix.

I have a FT-991A connected to a computer via USB cable only.

I'm able to play with the VFO on flrig, and see the change on the physical radio. I'm also able to spin the physical VFO knob on the radio, and see it reflected on the software.

My understanding of fldigi documentation is that the waterfall is the best way of tuning to wherever. However, the waterfall seems to be totally off base with where my VFO, flrig, and fldigi says I am.

What simple little thing am I missing?

Attached Files:

2. AF9US

AF9US Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

KD0UCA:

It appears from your description that the audio input to fldigi is coming from some other source than your FT-991A. Most likely, the audio input is from the built-in microphone on your computer. One way to verify is to make a noise, either by talking or making a loud noise near your computer. If the audio input to fldigi is coming from the computer microphone, you'll see the noise, you just made, reflected in the waterfall display in fldigi.

The fix requires you to go into fldigi Configure menu, select the Soundcard, then Devices. Most likely, the USB Audio CODEC is what you should choose for Capture and Playback in the Port Audio box. Port Audio should be checked, I believe Port Audio is checked by default.

Save the newly configured Soundcard settings (Configure Menu, then click Save Config). Exit flrig and fldigi, then restart both programs.

Good luck!
    Bernie, AF9US

3. KD0UCA

Thank you much for the reply.