fldigi/flrig w/ICOM IC-756 Pro via Signal Link USB (to a MacBook Pro 4,1 running El Cap)

Discussion in 'OS: Mac OS' started by KD7OWY, Nov 9, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. KD7OWY

KD7OWY Ham Member QRZ Page

Hello everyone - I'm totally new to digital modes and I'm having some trouble setting up my software to properly communicate with my rig.

I'm using:

* MacBook Pro 4,1 running El Capitan (10.11.6)
    * fldigi 4.1.08
    * flrig 1.3.48
    * ICOM IC-756 Pro
    * Signal Link USB

The Signal Link is properly configured and PTT activates with the fldigi output tx. The waterfall/scope follow the modulations of the frequencies received by the rig. So I know the interface hardware is working.

fldigi and flrig are speaking to each other properly. When I change the frequency in one, it changes in the other. So I know the problem isn't within the software communications.

My trouble is with flrig. The program doesn't connect to the transceiver.

My config settings are (see attached):
    * Rig - IC-756PRO
    * Ser Port - NONE
    * Baud - 19200
    * Stop bit - 1
    * Echo - check
    * PTT via CAT
    * Retries - 1
    * Retry interval - 2
    * Commands - 0
    * Poll interval - 200
    * Byte interval - 0
    * CI-V address - 0x5c

and the settings on the ICOM are:
    * CI-V Baud - 19200
    * CI-V address - Ch5

I believe the issue is with my selection of serial port. The interface is plugged into one of two USB ports on the left side of the laptop. I have tried all of the options in the drop down menu for "Ser Port" and I get the same error message for all of them when I press "init":

"Transceiver not responding!

Check serial (COM) port connection
    Open menu Config/Setup/Transceiver
    Press 'Ser Port' button, reselect port
    Press 'Init' button"