FLDIGI and FLRIG won't work with Xubuntu and IC7300

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio Software' started by KE0EYJ, Jun 30, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: l-BCInc
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: l-assoc
  1. KE0EYJ

KE0EYJ Ham Member QRZ Page

Pulling my hair out. Nothing online has helped.

I am NOT a Linux expert.

I have installed Linux on this machine a few years ago, and removed it. I have since reinstalled. I am trying to get FLDIGI to run my Icom 7300. I have it working perfectly through Windows. Linux, however, absolutely will not talk to the radio.

I have done the "dialout" thing, but I am totally confused about what that is. First time I tried to do it, I was told that it had already been added -- but I don't remember ever doing that, unless I added it under a different version of Linux 2 years ago? I stupidly chose a basic name for my Linux username install, and I wonder if someone else somewhere had added that to dialup, so that's why it does not work for me?

I just get 0 rig control at all. Sound card seems to work fine on Rx into FLDIGI, otherwise. It won't transmit. The numbers on the rig and FLDIGI differ.

Completely clueless here. I have tried the rig description file for the 7300. I have tried Rigcat and have it set up per online instructions. I have tried Hamlib, and that does nothing.

HELP.

2. VE3CGA

VE3CGA Ham Member QRZ Page

I'm no linux expert either, but on these USB rigs (I have a 9100) I think there is some sort of virtual port magic that has to be done
    I got fldigi to work on the spkr aqnd mic audio jacks by installing a rather large line by line edit using terminal.
    It worked great on linux mint 17.3 with my ic751a but there is something needed to reroute the audio ports to the usb sound port on the 9100
    and thats where I have left things. there is different and numerous explainations on the linux forums for ham radio

the best thing it to search for fldigi and linux mint for installing fldigi