Fixing Reverse Polarity Damage for IC2800H

Discussion in 'Radio Circuits, Repair & Performance' started by ABUHASHEM, Oct 9, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. ABUHASHEM

ABUHASHEM QRZ Member

Hi all,

This is my first post and I'm seeking help to repair my radio.

I accidentally connect the power for my rarely used radio in reverse and damage the unit, I’m no expert in electronics and I don’t know how to diagnose using the circuit diagram but I can repair some easy to fix common power supplies and other electronics problems using multimeter and a soldering iron, but this damage is beyond my knowledge.

When I opened the unit for the first time I noticed Zener Diode #D46 has blown out and a fried trace that I tried to patch as you can in the attached file, all other components looks visually OK, I replaced the Diode with the same part and fixed the trace and power the unit (with the right polarity this time) but the diode smoked and another part of the same trace fried again as you can see near part #L25 (R12J).

Here is the service manual link: http://www.radiomanual.info/schemi/ICOM_VU/IC-2800H_serv.pdf

I appreciate your help.

Ahmed,

Attached Files:

Last edited: Oct 9, 2019
  2. G0GSR

G0GSR Ham Member QRZ Page

D45 is the diode that should have cleared the fault but may have gone short in the process.
    Remove D46 for now, that's for over voltage protection. Also check you replaced D46 with the correct polarity as it will do what you describe if reversed.

Frank

3. ABUHASHEM

ABUHASHEM QRZ Member

The new D46 that I replaced was with correct polarity.