First Attempt to Build Mobile EMCOMM Go-Box. Help Needed.

Discussion in 'Mobile Radio' started by KD8MBN, Dec 30, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. KD8MBN

KD8MBN Ham Member QRZ Page

First of all thanks for taking the time to look at this post, and my apologies in advance if a similar topic with answers to my questions has already been discussed.

I've been saving my pennies for nearly two years to purchase my first HF rig. I earned my Technicians' ticket back in 2009 but have mostly limited myself to local repeaters and simplex due to time constraints between work and school and my desire to "buy once and cry once." I had my eye really nice Yaseu FT-897D (mil-spec manpack case, tuner, batteries, that sort of rig) but lost in a last minute bidding war on eBay. In my persistance I went with my second choice: an Icom FT-7000; I ended up getting for less than $1,000 with all the mounts, cables, boxes, manuals, and in mint condition. Not a bad deal.

And this is where the saga of me wanting to build an EMCOMM station begins...