ad: w5yi

First attempt at creating a QSL card - suggestions?

Discussion in 'Ham Radio Discussions' started by KD5RKO, Jun 13, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
  1. KD5RKO

KD5RKO Ham Member QRZ Page

So this is my first attempt at making a QSL card. I wanted to style it after the RKO Radio and movies franchise. My Photoshop skills are severely lacking. This was mostly done in a combination of Paint3D and the Pixlr.com online photo editor. The plan is to make the reverse side with all the contact info, and instead of doing it postcard style, I intend to have sent in anvelope to prevent damage. I did make the image 2000 by 1270 pixels, as I saw suggested somewhere. Any hints, suggestions, criticisms are welcome. ( Maybe not so much on the criticism though! ) Also best windows software suggestions for improvements. Thanks in advance.

Attached Files:

WZ7U likes this.
  2. K3UJ

K3UJ Ham Member QRZ Page

Really looks good.

Side note, add county and ITU/CQ zones. These could be on the back.

3. KP4SX

KP4SX XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Looks pretty neat. The aspect ratio should be 1.555 (90 x 140mm) so you're pretty close. Tighten up the spacing between K and D.

4. WR2E

WR2E Ham Member QRZ Page

Not criticizing really... but I don't care for the " Grid Square... " right on the front below the address.

What's on the back side? Can you put that there along with the zone info previously suggested?

I would probably center the address between the top of the card and the top of the callsign.

Really like the idea though! Cool!

5. KE4OH

KE4OH Ham Member QRZ Page

I like it, and I'm a hard critic on QSL card design if you're going to the trouble and expense of a nice custom card.