Filmmakers need assistance in Colorado area

Discussion in 'Ham Radio Discussions' started by WT1J, Feb 18, 2020.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
ad: Subscribe
  1. WT1J

WT1J Ham Member QRZ Page

Hi all,

My callsign is WT1J. I'm a filmmaker. We are working on a film where one of the main characters is a ham. A large yagi antenna forms an important part of the story. We're looking for a location to shoot several scenes. Our requirements are:
    • Need a very large antenna on a tall mast.
    • The mast should be climbable. We have several scenes with a character up on the mast working on something.
    • Preferably a view of the rockies in the background.
    • Needs to be near a house. Ideal situation is the antenna is near a house with a porch in a rural area.
    • I'm concerned for the safety of our talent and crew, and so I'm looking for a mast that ideally has a ladder and a harness system that we can use. The more robust, and safe, the better. I'm guessing larger antennas will generally have more sturdy masts, but I've never owned a large yagi so I don't really know what I'm talking about.
    We would need assistance from the antenna owner to film in the area for several days both on and around the antenna and on the porch - if that's available.

Some info on me and the project:

I run a software company and I make films. I'm quite technical and have been a member of the ham community since 2013. I've built my own dipoles and mostly operate on HF 20 and 40 meters along with some VHF work on repeaters. I move around a fair amount so you may have chatted with me when I was based on Peaks Island in Maine or in Colorado or Seattle. I made a ton of contacts from the IOTA folks when on Peaks.