FD Safety Officer

Discussion in 'Ham Radio Discussions' started by KD0UFC, Apr 27, 2016.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: Subscribe
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
  1. KD0UFC

KD0UFC Ham Member QRZ Page

Hi folks,
    I've been appointed as safety officer for my club's field day effort this year, under rule 7.3.17. My background is in industrial construction, I've taken the OSHA 30 course in construction safety, and have served as a safety officer for model and high power rocketry launches. I'm curious as to what other clubs are planning safety wise. Anyone planning on making substantial purchases? Or are people planning to see what can be borrowed from club members? I'm thinking it would be ideal for a club to provide first aid kits, fire extinguishers, caution tape, etc. and perhaps an AED. Any thoughts?

2. KB2FCV

KB2FCV Ham Member QRZ Page

Definitely fire extinguishers, a first aid kit isn't a bad idea or an AED if you have access to it and people who know how to use it (they are pretty easy and walk you through it by themselves.. take the red cross courses if u can) If it's really hot/humid... I would add big coolers filled with plenty of bottled water / ice as well as fans at the operating stations to keep air moving. If you have guy ropes.. some sort of streamer / flag if they are near areas where people may walk (I've walked into my share of them at night).

Last edited: Apr 27, 2016
    K9ASE likes this.
  3. KA0HCP

KA0HCP XML Subscriber QRZ Page

First thing: Get a badge!

K4YND, N4NJJ and KB2FCV like this.
  4. KD0UFC

Badges? We don't need no stinking badges! :D

W1XWX and WB0MPB like this.
  5. W4IOA

W4IOA Ham Member QRZ Page