Farnsworth Spacing on QSO

Discussion in 'Straight Keys - CW Enthusiasts' started by KN4ICU, Mar 20, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: QSOToday-1
ad: Left-3
ad: abrind-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
  1. KN4ICU

KN4ICU Ham Member QRZ Page

When learning morse, I started doing 20wpm with 10wpm Farnsworth spacing. I've gotten to the point with that that I could copy words fairly easily. When I started making my first CW contacts this week, I decided to try going down to around 10wpm with no spacing..... Oh boy.... That sure messed my head up. Copying was difficult. I ended up hearing things a lot different and started counting dits and dahs a couple times. I went back to the original 20wpm with Farnsworth spacing, and everything was much easier again (as a musician, I can say playing slower is a A LOT more difficult that playing faster on an instrument).

I was initially thinking maybe I shouldn't be doing the Farnsworth spacing while doing live QSO's. I'm starting to think otherwise now. Would it be a good idea to just keep transmitting the higher rate with Farnsworth spacing since this is how I've been learning (and gradually just lose the spacing over time)?

2. KQ4MM

KQ4MM XML Subscriber QRZ Page

GM Jeff,

Thats how I learned ( LCWO website) 21WPM characters with wide spaces in the beginning ... For a while it did throw me listening to slower characters more closely spaced ( still does sometimes) but what I did was weighted my copy practice time more towards copying the mail vs online copy of perfect code. There are so many different fists out there its one of the next steps I think in improving copy ability... Im on head copy now, trying to only jot down the details vs every word in a QSO ... Im finding that somewhat challenging no matter the speed, but making a little progress ... Good luck OM ... 73

WB5YUZ likes this.
  3. N8AFT

N8AFT Ham Member QRZ Page