ad: HamInsurance-1

exactly what do I need to set up Hamsticks??

Discussion in 'On the Road' started by KG5JPG, Aug 27, 2016.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: HRDLLC-2
ad: Left-3
ad: L-Geochron
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-2
  1. KG5JPG

KG5JPG Ham Member QRZ Page

OK, I do understand that Hamsticks are now considered a generic label, but as a fairly new operator, I want to know everything I need to get to set up. I will be using an elderly but mint Alinco DX-70 for mobile/portable, I have an eagle One antenna for when i can stop and fully set up. so, what else do I need? coax in a particular length? what kind of connector between the bottom of the hamstick and the coax. what type of surface mount? unfortunately I drive a Jeep with a Fiberglass top so there isn't much to anchor to. this is why I was looking at Hamsticks and avoiding a full on permanent mount.

2. KA9JLM

KA9JLM Ham Member QRZ Page

You need a lot of Luck to use those.

In the day we put a cap at the base to help match them better.

Good Luck.

3. K0UO

K0UO Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

Get a big amp so somebody can hear you HI HI, actually they work pretty good 20 meters and up. I have used them on 40 with fair results as long as the vehicle is grounded good, but their narrow banded of course. On 40 I use a small Coil that connects from the ground to the antenna to get 50 ohms. You could do a search there's a great website on mobile installs on the web see K0BG.com They will get you on the air for cheap but they're efficiency specially on 40 and 75 is about as poor as you can get from mobile antenna.
    Don't even think about using a magnetic now or anything like that, use a good permanent ground mount. On newer Vehicles you can get IFR from the vehicle's computer system but worse you may interfere with the vehicle's computer system so grounding is important.

4. K7WFM

K7WFM Ham Member QRZ Page