Estimating distance for VHF

Discussion in 'General Technical Questions and Answers' started by K0HBL, Apr 14, 2020.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
  1. K0HBL

K0HBL Ham Member QRZ Page

I am working on a project and looking for a bit of advise as I am not an expert on this. I have two stations I am trying to communicate that are 76 miles between each other with no repeater between them. One site is several hundred feet in elevation higher with not much terrain in between. I did a line of sight calculation based on elevation and the antenna heights I am looking at and found I can get a direct line of sight. With a directional style antenna, thoughts on communicating between the two sights on 2M or even 6M?

Thank you

2. WA7ARK

WA7ARK Ham Member QRZ Page

If the path is truly LOS, then no problems. I routinely talk 200mi while hamming on 2m from my Cessna. I run ~25W with just an omni 19inch whip on the belly of the aircraft. Ditto leaving an APRS track from the airplane in my Avatar; that transmitter is a 1W HT with just a 19" whip.

3. W9AFB

W9AFB Ham Member QRZ Page

If both stations have yagi antennas mounted outside above other structures, it may be possible. Especially using 6M SSB. You might try some of the modeling programs out there to help out. I haven't used this in a while, but try https://www.ve2dbe.com/rmonline_s.asp

M6TZR likes this.
  4. KD4UPL

KD4UPL Ham Member QRZ Page

76 miles shouldn't be any problem if there's nothing in between. A good base antenna and rig at a good location can usually be heard over 100 miles away.

WQ4G likes this.
  5. F5VHZ

F5VHZ Ham Member QRZ Page