EchoLink

Discussion in 'Ham Radio Discussions' started by K4EEP, Feb 1, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: l-BCInc
ad: L-MFJ
ad: l-assoc
  1. K4EEP

K4EEP Ham Member QRZ Page

how do you connect to another person by phone? android to android. I keep getting a message saying connection failed, no route available. I'm new to echolink. Thanks for advice

2. K0RGR

K0RGR Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

That isn't the intent of the program, which is to allow connections to repeaters. I'm not aware of any limitation, but I wouldn't be surprised if the author built it that way on purpose. He stated years ago that if he though most people were using it computer to computer, he'd shut it all down.

Instead of connecting directly, find a repeater or conference you can both connect to.

K2WH likes this.
  3. WW2E

WW2E Ham Member QRZ Page

When you say "another person," I assume you mean "another ham running the Android Echolink app." If so, there is absolutely nothing wrong with connecting to another amateur "Android-to-Android" via Echolink. See the troubleshooting page here for some helpful tips.

WB7OXP likes this.
  4. W0IS

W0IS Ham Member QRZ Page

At one time, I set up an account, and for a while, it was somewhat interesting connecting to distant repeaters.

One day, I accidentally clicked on the link for some guy in Japan. It wasn't a repeater, and it wasn't even a local RF link in his house. He was sitting in front of his computer, and I was sitting in front of my computer. Before I realized what I had done, he replied.

I think we exchanged 59 signal reports, wished each other the best, and then disconnected. We did both ID, just as if we were on the air.

5. KY5U

KY5U Subscriber QRZ Page

Sounds like a job for Skype.

KK5JY likes this.
  6. N1FMV

N1FMV Subscriber QRZ Page

Hmmm... I was always under the impression that one party would have to be running in "Sysop" mode; but I suppose I could be totally wrong about that.
    Frank