ad: NI4L-2

Echolink and the Kenwood TM-V71A

Discussion in 'Echolink/IRLP Tech Board' started by KG5WLK, Dec 19, 2017.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: l-assoc
ad: l-BCInc
ad: Subscribe
  1. KG5WLK

KG5WLK Ham Member QRZ Page

I am new to Ham radio. Just got my Ticket last week. I have a Kenwood TM-V71A and already am verified through echolink. I have used it from my PC and smartphone. There is an echolink enabled repeater about 10 miles from my home. I can also hit the repeater within 30 miles or so when mobile (I use the V71A both mobile and as a base station). I'm not sure I understand the process of connecting to an echolink node say in Australia via my mobile through the local echolink repeater. Can anyone give me some insight to the process?

Thanks
    73 KG5WLK

2. ND5Y

ND5Y Ham Member QRZ Page

Normally you dial a DTMF command to connect to a node plus the node number and and another DTMF command to disconnect, but that depends on how their repeater and node are set up. You will have to get permission and instructions from the repeater owner.

3. KG5WLK

Thanks Tom!
    I will meet with the club that owns that repeater this week!

73 KG5WLK

4. KG5WLK

Update;
    I have resolved most of the issues I was having with Echolink save for one. I wanted to operate in Sysop mode but needed the PG-5H cables so I ordered them online a couple weeks ago. There were some delivery issues and last night I was finally delivered the wrong item even though the correct item number was on the packing slip. What I received was a PG-5F which is just the extended wires to relocate the control face of the radio. The supplier in Colorado is trying to get the right cables to me now. I wonder if this is a common problem since cannabis has been legalized in Colorado...

5. KG5WLK